top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMICHAEL GALLEGOS

The UX of Tabletop Games




As a high school student studying a pretty new field called “User Experience” or “UX”, I’ve been given the task of breaking down the UX of something I’m pretty interested in, playing tabletop games.


If I had to describe UX in my own words, I’d say it’s looking at things and trying to improve it.

An example of how UX is used is to streamline how people can use products so they are better.

The reason I’m writing a blog article about the UX of tabletop games is they are so unique and interesting, and they are becoming more popular nowadays.

I use this on a weekly basis so I’m pretty familiar with how it works and what I like and dislike about it.

In UX, we use this term “persona”, which basically refers to a representation of a user.


An example of a user persona for this product would be a teen to a 30-something-year-old who’s likely extroverted and enjoys games or fantasy fiction.

A “Pain Point” or area that could use improvement with tabletop games is how people discover games and become a part of a group. Most likely, others using this app are having similar issues.

As UX designers, we have all sorts of tools that are part of our practice in order to solve these issues, including “ideation”, “user flow maps”, “wireframing” and “prototyping”.


I would ultimately solve this pain point by making information and resources about tabletop games more mainstream and available.

UX, while relatively new, is absolutely important in helping the things we all use work better and make our lives better.


I hope this post helps demonstrate how useful this skillset is.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page